School District of Kewaskum Annual School District Meeting and Budget Hearing August 26, 2019 Minutes

The Annual Meeting of the School District of Kewaskum was held in the Kewaskum High School Theatre on Monday, August 26, 2019. The meeting was called to order by School Board President, Mark Sette, at 7:02 p.m. Following a moment of silence, the Pledge of Allegiance was led by Mr. Scott Stier. President Sette introduced the Board Members present (Troy Hanson and Sue Miller) and School District Attorney Tony Renning who was present as Parliamentarian. Attorney Renning explained the parliamentarian responsibilities and explained anyone residing in the district 18 years or older may vote at this Annual meeting.

Troy Hanson nominated Mark Sette as chairperson. Mary Miller seconded. No additional nominations were presented. Attorney Tony Renning closed nominations. Mark Sette accepted. All aye. Mark Sette became Chairperson.

Sue Miller motioned to approve the agenda as written. Troy Hanson seconded. All aye.

Mark Sette moved to select Sue Miller as secretary. Sue Miller motioned to designate secretarial duties to Vickie Plachinski. Troy Hanson seconded. All aye.

Vickie Plachinski accepted and took the minutes for the Annual Meeting.

Mr. Sette appointed the following staff members as tellers: Jody Heipp, Julie Skelton, Scott Stier, Jake Flood, Taryn Kroll and Mark Bazata.

Jason Piittmann motioned to adopt Roberts Rules of Order for Parliamentary Procedure. Mary Miller seconded. All aye. Motion passed.

Sue Miller motioned to approve the August 27, 2018 Annual Meeting Minutes. Robyn Bindrich seconded. All aye. Motion passed.

End of Year Review

District Administrator, James Smasal and his administrative team presented a slide show of the 2018-19 School Year in Review.

Old Business: None

New Business

Presentation of the 2019-20 Budget and Tax Levy

Business Manager, Julie Thoreson presented the 2018-19 financial results and the preliminary 2019-20 budget.

Budget Hearing for Questions and Discussion Questions were received by the audience members.

Resolutions

1) Be it resolved by the electors of the School District of Kewaskum that the salary of the School Board members be set at \$3150.00 per year.

Motion by Troy Hanson, seconded by Connie Zemlicka. All aye, no opposed. Motion passed.

2) Be it resolved by the electors of the School District of Kewaskum to authorize the payment of actual and necessary expenses of a School Board member when traveling in the performance of duties and the reimbursement of a School Board member for actual loss of earnings, (currently not to exceed \$125.00 per day), when duties require the School Board member to be absent from regular employment.

Motion by Tim Rohlinger, seconded by Joyce Krall. All aye, no opposed. Motion passed.

3) Be it resolved by the electors of the School District of Kewaskum that a tax be levied on all taxable property of the District for operating expenses and capital outlay for the 2019-20 school year in the amount of \$9,660,964; for debt retirement in the amount of \$2,184,975; for the operations of the Community Services fund in the amount of \$61,000.

Motion by Mary Miller, seconded by Robyn Bindrich. All aye, no opposed. Motion passed.

Be it resolved by the electors of the Kewaskum School District, that the Board of Education is authorized, in compliance with State Statutes governing same, to set the time and date for the 2020 Annual Meeting. Such date to be August 24, 2020 beginning at 7:00 p.m.

Motion by Jason Piittmann, seconded by Jean Klahn. All aye, no opposed. Motion passed.

Comment period concerning District operations

The floor was open to the community for comments allowed by law relating to the operation of the district.

Motion to adjourn by Troy Hanson, seconded by Tara Theusch. The meeting adjourned at 7:42 p.m.