# School District of Kewaskum Annual School District Meeting and Budget Hearing 7:00 p.m., August 24, 2020 Minutes

Due to the pandemic the meeting was available via audio.

The Annual Meeting of the School District of Kewaskum was held in the Kewaskum High School Theatre on Monday, August 24, 2020. The meeting was called to order by School Board President, Jim Leister, at 7:00 p.m. Following a moment of silence, the Pledge of Allegiance was led by Mr. Jim Leister.

President Leister introduced the Board Members present (Dennis Aupperle, Stephanie Bird, Doug Gonring, Sue Miller and Tim Ramthun) and School District Attorney Tony Renning who was present as Parliamentarian. Attorney Renning explained the parliamentarian responsibilities and explained anyone residing in the district 18 years or older may vote at this Annual meeting.

Twenty district residents signed in as attending.

Tim Ramthun nominated Jim Leister as chairperson. Doug Gonring seconded.

No additional nominations were presented. Attorney Tony Renning closed nominations. Jim Leister accepted. All aye. Jim Leister became Chairperson.

Tim Ramthun motioned to approve the agenda as written. Mary Miller seconded. All aye.

Jim Leister moved to select Stephanie Bird as secretary. Stephanie Bird motioned to designate secretarial duties to Vickie Plachinski. All aye.

Vickie Plachinski accepted and took the minutes for the Annual Meeting.

Mr. Leister appointed the following staff members as tellers:

Jody Heipp, Julie Skelton, Scott Stier, Jake Flood, Taryn Kroll and Mark Bazata.

Jason Piittmann motioned to adopt Roberts Rules of Order for Parliamentary Procedure. Tim Ramthun seconded. All aye. Motion passed.

Mary Miller motioned to approve the August 26, 2019 Annual Meeting Minutes. Bruce Towell seconded. The number of district residents attending will be included in the meeting minutes. All aye. Motion passed.

## **New Business**

Presentation of the 2020-21 Budget and Tax Levy

Business Manager, Julie Thoreson presented the 2019-20 financial results and the preliminary 2020-21 budget.

# **Budget Hearing for Questions and Discussion**

Questions were received by the audience members.

### Resolutions

- 1) Be it resolved by the electors of the School District of Kewaskum that the salary of the School Board members be set at \$3150 per year.
  - Motion by Mary Miller, seconded by Carla Schmidt. All aye, no opposed. Motion passed.
- 2) Be it resolved by the electors of the School District of Kewaskum to authorize the payment of actual and necessary expenses of a School Board member when traveling in the performance of duties and the reimbursement of a School Board member for actual loss of earnings, (currently not to exceed

\$125.00 per day), when duties require the School Board member to be absent from regular employment.

Motion by Jason Piittmann, seconded by Doug Franzen. All aye, no opposed. Motion passed.

3) Be it resolved by the electors of the School District of Kewaskum that a tax be levied on all taxable property of the District for operating expenses and capital outlay for the 2020-21 school year in the amount of \$9,093,694; for debt retirement in the amount of \$2,206,550; for the operations of the Community Services fund in the amount of \$107,125.

Motion by Stephanie Bird, seconded by Mary Miller. All aye, no opposed. Motion passed.

4) Be it resolved by the electors of the Kewaskum School District, that the Board of Education is authorized, in compliance with State Statutes governing same, to set the time and date for the 2021 Annual Meeting. Such date to be August 23, 2021 beginning at 7:00 p.m.

Motion by Mary Miller, seconded by Sue Miller. All aye, no opposed. Motion passed.

# **School Year Re-opening 2020**

Mr. Smasal, Dr. Bazata and Ms. Bocher presented the Reopening plan for the 2020-21 school year.

# **Comment Period Concerning District Operations**

The floor was open to the community for comments allowed by law relating to the operation of the district. No comments were received.

Motion to adjourn by Tim Ramthun, seconded by Doug Franzen.

The meeting adjourned at 7:50 p.m.